The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr - Frances Maynard (Paperback) 12-07-2018 Runner-up for Society of Authors: McKitterick Prize 2018 (UK).

The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr - Frances Maynard (Paperback) 12-07-2018 Runner-up for Society of Authors: McKitterick Prize 2018 (UK).

  • £8.99
    Unit price per 
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.


'Wonderful' - Rosie Walsh, author of The Man Who Didn't Call. Funny, heart-warming and ultimately triumphant, The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr by Frances Maynard is a story for anyone who doesn't quite fit in - and for everyone who chooses not to. Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine. Elvira Carr is twenty-seven, neuro-atypical, and has never lived alone. But her father - who she suspects was in the secret service - is dead, and when her mother has a stroke and is taken into care, Elvira suddenly finds herself home alone. In order to cope, Elvira - who knows a lot about biscuits and supermarkets, but not much about life - develops Seven Rules for interacting with others. Not even her rules can help her, however, when she's faced with solving a mystery she didn't know existed . . . 'Big-hearted and charming' - James Hannah, author of The A to Z of You and Me.